Skip to content

Ruud: it was a forbidden love

January 26, 2011
tags:

He won’t be returning home, but he still has a lot of love for Real Madrid (which is reciprocated).  Ruud van Nistelrooy spoke with both AS and Marca yesterday as his dreams of coming back to this club evaporated, and what he said is very, very touching.  I especially appreciate all the effort he made to return, and how you can practically reach out and grasp the love he has for this club.  I’m so disappointed that we won’t be able to welcome this gentleman back.

First up, the interview with AS.

Q:  The chants in the Bernabéu aimed at you show that you have not been forgotten.

A:  Yes (he’s silent and looks at the photos on the computer).

Q:  And what do you think about that?

A:  I’m touched by it.

Q:  Does it help to soothe the pain?

A:  It helps me and I keep in my heart the response of Madrid’s fans.  I’m at a point in my career where I find it incredible what Madrid has done.  They made an offer for four months for a footballer who’s 34 years old.  It’s amazing!  They came with everything.  They did everything possible, and I did as well, but…

Q:  A forbidden love?

A:  Yes, that’s true.  Those are things in life that make you think, “¡Joder!  Mejor, imposible.

Q:  How did everything start?

A:  It was my agent, Roger, who told me about the interest on Jan. 13.  I wanted to go to Madrid, but up to Monday (two days ago) evening there was no solution.

Q:  You offered to pay part of the transfer fee.

A:  Yes, I had no problems doing so.  The important thing was how I felt.  We made a huge effort, but… it wasn’t meant to be.

Q:  Did you see yourself in Madrid?

A:  Of course, when you’re relaxed at home and you daydream… I imagined returning to Valdebebas, playing in the Bernabéu.  In the end, the answer was no, but I’m not going to give up.  I’ll continue playing football, which is what I like best in life.

Q:  What did Raúl tell you?

A:  He was very clear.  He knew what kind of opportunity it was and he wished me lots of luck.  But last year I signed this contract and I have to live up to these responsibilities as well.

Q:  What did you say to try and convince Hamburg’s president?

A:  That it was a dream, that it was Madrid!  But they didn’t want to do anything.

Q:  Are you upset with your club?

A: I can’t say anything about the fans, the players or the coach.  It was the club that made this decision.  The most important thing is that I continue being a professional and a good person.

Q:  You never thought of going on strike to force a return?

A:  When you think about how Madrid is waiting for you, you think about saying, “take that!  I’m staying in Hamburg, but I’m not going to play because I’m going to be sick.”  No, no and no.  In the end, that attitude does nothing for you.  If I, as a person, did things like that, I would lose.  [The Marca interview asked the same question, and Ruud’s reply was along these same lines, but he added, “I’m a man of my word.  No one made me sign with Hamburg and now I have to fulfill my contract.”]

Q:  What did Mourinho say to you?

A:  He said publicly in Valdebebas that he wanted me.  What else could be said?

Q:  Did you speak with any of your former Madrid teammates?

A:  Yes, with Diarra.  I received a lot of messages from Madrid’s players and employees.

Q:  What do you hope for Madrid?

A:  I have all the faith in the world in this team and in this coach.  It’s the only team capable of beating Barça.  But they’ll do it without me.  [Sigh…]

He also spoke to Marca.

Q:  Why didn’t Hamburg let you leave?

A:  It’s a good question.  They told me that they couldn’t sell me because they needed me.  It was not a question of money, since Madrid’s offer was spectacular: €2 million and a friendly, which could translate to two or three million more.  But they said no.

Q:  Wasn’t there anything else you could do?

A:  No.  I did everything I could.  Ever since Madrid called me, I was constantly in the front office, and I spoke with the coach, the president… I begged them to let me realize my dream.  I told them that it was not only my dream, but also that of my family, my wife, my kids, but it was impossible.  Nothing worked.  And it’s a shame, because the amount of hope I had was incredible… I’m staying here, although my heart is in Madrid.

Q:  Would you have played for free?

A:  I don’t want to go into details, since nothing matters anymore, but I was.

Q:  What was that call from Madrid like?

A:  It was an incredible surprise.  I never imagined it would happen.  It happened on a Thursday morning, Jan. 13.  One hour later, I was calling Hamburg and starting to fight.  I begged them not to take this away from me.

Q:  What’s your opinion on how Madrid handled this situation?

A:  They couldn’t have done more.  I can only say thank you to Madrid, to their employees, to Florentino and the coach.  They were wonderful to me, because they made me feel very special, because this call gave me two or three more years of football.  It’s given me new life.

Q:  How many times have you dreamed of returning to the Bernabéu?

A:  Many times during the last week.  And scoring goals, stepping on that field… I saw myself in Valdebebas and with Mourinho.  But then I saw that Hamburg wouldn’t budge and I got nervous, and I couldn’t sleep well.

Q:  You had a bad time of it?

A:  Very bad, because uncertainty is horrible.

Q:  And now what?

A:  I’ll go to another club.  I won’t renew my contract.

Q:  Do you feel that your history with Madrid is incomplete after all this?

A:  Madrid, the club and the fans, will always be in my heart.  I left Madrid because I had a lot of injuries and I needed to play.  And Madrid let me leave for free.  Madrid is incredible.  I will never forget what this club has done for me and I believe this episode will also form part of my history with the club.  It would have been very romantic to return, but even with what happened, I believe that my history with the club will be remembered with a lot of affection.

Q:  The fans were chanting your name last Sunday…

A:  I’m speechless.  I received texts telling me about this and I was touched.  I sent them to Hamburg, to tell them, “look what the Bernabéu did for me, let me leave, please!”

Q:  You’ll always have that thorn of never winning a Champions in your side…

A:  It appears that way, and it hurts.  I will retire without winning a Champions League.  I really saw myself winning La Décima with Mou.  Fate says Madrid will win on May 28 and I thought I would be there.  When Madrid called me, I thought, “I’m going to win the Champions!  I’ve thought a lot about what it would be like to lift up the trophy, to touch it…”  A 17-year career, and I don’t have one of those.

Q:  Why do you believe this year will be the year?

A:  Mourinho is the best coach in the world.  I think the team is doing really well and the coach manages them like no one else could during important moments.

Q:  Why do you have so much faith in Mourinho?

A:  Have you seen what he’s done in the last five months?  That’s a real coach.  It’s a completely different team compared to previous years; it’s a new team.  His work has been wonderful.  Look at Marcelo, he’s a completely new player under Mourinho!  He gets the most out of everyone and that’s why I believe they’ll win La Décima.  Look at Cristiano!  He’s always been fantastic, but now there’s no one that can stop him.

Q:  What did Mourinho tell you when you spoke with him?

A:  That he wanted me, that he would count on me…  When he publicly stated that he wanted me, it made me feel more secure about myself.  He’s number one.

And so are you Ruud, so are you.

47 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2011 09:35

    God, this man is amazing!! I felt tears forming while reading his interview.. 😥

  2. January 26, 2011 09:35

    This interview makes me so sad… 😥
    But we need to move on, so let’s hope for the best for the rest of the season 🙂

  3. LaBlanca permalink
    January 26, 2011 09:36

    I have tears in my eyes and a broken heart (its actually broken since the final refuse by Hamburg), but his words make it even worse. So sad for him, our club and all madridistas.

    Thank you for your words! We love you too Ruud!!! We’ll never forget you and your big heart!

  4. Bee permalink
    January 26, 2011 09:43

    Every word he said, you can almost see, taste, touch his love for Real Madrid. If this is not love and loyalty, I don’t know what is.

    I got so emotional after reading this. The extent he would go to just to play for Madrid is incredible. He is very special (in every sense) and he has a big, big heart. Even though this was not meant to be, he will forever remain in every madridista’s heart.

  5. January 26, 2011 09:50

    Absolutely gutted for Ruud and his statements about the team and situation… perfect. Very bitter-sweet.

    Thanks for the translations!

  6. January 26, 2011 10:02

    Tears in my eyes..

  7. endlessinfinity permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:10

    This brought tears to my eyes. Poor Ruud! The Bernabeu and Madridistas the world over still misd you.

  8. LaBlanca permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:10

    thank you for your biiiiiig effort with the translations, Una. To share his sentiments to those who dont understand Spanish.

    *a round of applause please*

  9. ulong permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:17

    oh my God
    it’s really heartbreaking
    Ruudtje, we love you too

  10. Marshmallow permalink
    January 26, 2011 10:48

    my heart is in a million pieces.

  11. Marksman permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:07

    Thank you so much for the translation!

  12. January 26, 2011 11:08

    OK, somebody better hand me a handkerchief because I’m about to cry.

    I’m just lucky that I’m not HSV AND an RM fan, because this dilemma trip is not fun.

    Classy man, you just stole my heart again.

  13. amouria permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:09

    He made me cry, ohhh…
    this is a man of class, well-educated and with great manners. His family and country should be proud of him.
    Unlike many of RM’s ‘graduates’ he showed how one must speak about his previous team. RM should use his words to educate those who leave the team.
    Ruud, you will always be in our hearts…

  14. olalla permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:33

    this really make me cry..sobs..we too RM fan would like to see u back here RVN..XOXO

  15. Alex permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:35

    This makes me so sad.

  16. Sayu permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:39

    i love you ruud! a true madridista! ❤ i hope someday you and madrid could come across and you would have to realize your dreams 🙂

  17. Real Madrid permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:43

    This is very sad, but very classy from RVN. what a legend, you will always be remembered..

  18. xoxo permalink
    January 26, 2011 11:52

    What an incredible human being. Thank you for the translation!

  19. January 26, 2011 12:35

    This is so depressing and sad T_T

  20. Chloe permalink
    January 26, 2011 12:43

    This makes me incredibly upset, he clearly just wants to come home 😦
    And he never got to win a CL.
    Sigh.

  21. Fatima permalink
    January 26, 2011 12:43

    I feel so sad now:’s why didnt we get him. Stupid Hamburg!

  22. Jenny permalink
    January 26, 2011 12:47

    I feel quite tearful – what a beautiful person!

  23. Kat permalink
    January 26, 2011 13:23

    Oh, wow. This breaks my heart. And he actually considered paying a part of the transfer fee! Or even play for free! That’s crazy. But it really does seem that Hamburg need him, since I think Madrid were quite generous with their offer, given that Ruud, brilliant as he is, is nearing the end of his career.

    I want him back in Madrid, but more for sentimental reasons than sporting ones. From a purely sporting perspective, I think Adebayor is a much better solution to the striker problem.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

    • Ebrahim permalink
      January 27, 2011 07:20

      excuse me? Pep described rvn as a great striker! 300+goals!

  24. January 26, 2011 13:47

    It’s heartbreaking to read this. Poor guy. I really wish they’d let him go. Now Madrid have Adebayor. *Gag*

  25. Laryssa permalink
    January 26, 2011 14:12

    I will always love him.
    I miss Ruud (and Rafa) so much.
    Boooo Hamburgo!

  26. raheeq permalink
    January 26, 2011 15:04

    i will cry ……..we love you too

  27. Milleca permalink
    January 26, 2011 15:45

    Oh my goodness I have tears in my eyes 😦

  28. Real Madrid is forever in my heart permalink
    January 26, 2011 16:07

    OMG i cant stop myself from crying. Ruud Van Nistelrooy you have defenetly a place in my white heart for the rest of my live. Thank you for the 30:th La liga titel, thank you for those beutiful years at the club you will always bee remember by us Madridlistas as one of the worlds best striker.

    HALA REAL MADRID Y RUUD VAN NISTELROOY

  29. Ally permalink
    January 26, 2011 16:09

    HSV is stupid to not let him go… 😥 If Ruud wants to go, why can’t he go?

    I hope he will return some day, when his contract with HSV is expired.

  30. January 26, 2011 16:43

    Ruud , we miss you, I really wanted him back.
    I don’t like Adebayor….. wish it was someone else.

  31. amouria permalink
    January 26, 2011 16:44

    Una: I would suggest that we send him the link of this post. He will be extremely happy with the feedback of a number of madridista, what do you think? any one knows his email address, facebook or twitter?

  32. January 26, 2011 16:56

    RvN has, quite possibly, the biggest tongue of any human on earth. He would stick it out frequently, like when he scored. Just an observation from a bored housewife. Now, back to sewing curtains…

  33. Leo Messi permalink
    January 26, 2011 17:21

    Visca el Barca. 5-0. 4 points ahead. The league is ours. Visca el Barca guys! Cheers and remember, 5-0.

  34. January 26, 2011 17:43

    I actually wanted to cry after reading this.

  35. Lily permalink
    January 26, 2011 17:53

    Wow I feel so bad, I can’t believe his current club did that to him!

    This is ridiculous!

  36. Sol22 permalink
    January 26, 2011 18:15

    I am with you all my heart was broken into a million piece. I love Ruud. He is such a great person and for Hamburg not to give him the opportunity to come back home to el Bernabeu was not fair. He is such a great person and he will always be in my heart.
    We love you Ruud!!!!

  37. canederli permalink
    January 26, 2011 18:39

    Wow, reading that brought tears to my eyes. His love for Real Madrid is just overwhelming. What a lovely, lovely man.

  38. Entchen permalink
    January 26, 2011 21:00

    apologies to you Una, but this needs to be said.

    everyone of you can cry, but I’m pretty upset about him now, even though I’m not a big HSV fan. has he even LOOKED at the table? the whole “situation” they’re in? it was clear from the very first call that Hamburg couldn’t afford to let him go. if he had stopped dreaming about Real and the trophies (sorry, but that sounded really like it was the only thing he thought about in that answer) for a moment, he would have seen that.

    Q: And now what?
    A: I’ll go to another club. I won’t renew my contract.

    “I’m a man of my word. No one made me sign with Hamburg and now I have to fulfill my contract.”

    Yes. Exactly. So stop sulking and really DO fulfill your contract. *looks back at the weekend*

    (and I’m sorry to all you fans of RvN. I do get that he loves Real and all. but his behaviour to his current club makes me dislike him so much right now)

  39. Gina permalink
    January 27, 2011 02:23

    I’m tearing up…:(

  40. January 27, 2011 05:52

    I have a lot of great memories of watching Ruud play for Real Madrid just a few years back which made me first fall in love with the club. It would have been fantastic to see him come back just one last time.

  41. Ebrahim permalink
    January 27, 2011 07:23

    Thanks una.

    RVN in madridstas hearts for now and forever, its legendary players like him who make the white strip special, they understand its history and consider it an honor to represent real Madrid at the SB .

    Thank you RVN for offering yourself in the hour of need now show us why we wanted you

  42. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    May 15, 2011 16:56

    I just get the chance to see this post, I remember feeling gutted when we didn’t get him in the first place, I was jumping up and down knowing he might be back :(! Reading this again, bring tears to my eyes again! 😦

    Madridista really love you RVN, van the man!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Ruud: it was a forbidden love « following Real Madrid… -- Topsy.com
  2. The Daily Drool: Ruud Van Nistelrooy « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…
  3. post updates! « following Real Madrid…

Leave a comment