Skip to content

Lena Gercke on Sami Khedira

November 23, 2012
tags:

While Sara Carbonero graced the cover of Elle España (I’ll add the rest of the interview and photos this weekend), Lena Gercke, Sami Khedira’s other half, appeared on the cover of GQ España.  Inside, she talks about her career, life in Spain and life with Sami, and even a bit about José Mourinho, although she refuses to reveal how she and Sami met!

She’s married [that’s what it says] to a football star, but that doesn’t mean that she knows how to explain the offside rule or that she’s interested in debating about the double pivot.  However, she doesn’t mind posing for GQ or responding to our questions.  If you want to see a show in the Bernabéu, it’s better to look in the stands for Sami Khedira’s woman.  After all, below on the field, there are only a bunch of guys in shorts chasing after a ball…

 

Our cover girl this month is Lena Gercke.  She became famous and an instant celebrity at the age of 18 when she won the first edition of Germany’s Next Top Model.  She soon crossed the border to present the Austrian version of the program, but now she has left the show to focus on her modeling career.  Gercke entered into our lives in June 2011, when it came to light that she was seeing Sami Khedira.  The midfielder improved the play of the merengues on the field with his recoveries and assists, while this blond German elevated the level of beauty in the boxes of the stadium.  Lena soon went from the fashion pages to the sports pages when it was rumored that the German Football Association was concerned that her outfits during the past Eurocopa were too sexy.  She spoke to us about this issue and others during the interview that accompanied this photo session, during which she demonstrated that she’s not only beautiful, but also nice.  Our verdict?  Two thumbs up, Sami.

Your first work was for Burger King.  When was the last time you ate a hamburger?

One week ago.  I love them, although I know they aren’t good for my body.  In general, I like everything that is unhealthy.  But I try not to overdo it and to burn calories through exercise.

You began working as a model when you were 16.  Was it something you pursued, or simply an opportunity that you got?

I always wanted to be a singer, but unfortunately my voice isn’t like that of Whitney Houston.  Being a model was never an option, it was actually an impossible dream, because I never thought that anyone would consider me beautiful enough to be one.  I didn’t have any confidence in myself, but it turned out that there were people who did.

What do you think would happen if you locked up a man with all the contestants from Germany’s Next Top Model?

Jajaja!  I believe the correct question would be what would 10 models do with only one man.  Poor things!

What are your upcoming projects, now that you’re no longer presenting the Austrian version?

I wanted to focus on my career as a model.  That requires me to spend more time in New York, but I’m still in discussions about a new program in Germany.

Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

I hope that I can be doing the same thing I’m doing now.  When I began working, the uncertainty of this profession made me crazy, but one day I stopped thinking about that and now I live week by week, month by month, enjoying what I do and without worrying about what will come.

What do you like to do when you’re in Spain?

Spain has become a second home for me, and I miss Madrid a lot when I’m away.  Here, I always have the feeling of being on vacation, because the weather is great and the people are very nice.  In addition, I absolutely love the cheeses and the ham, of course.

As you know, Spaniards have an ancestral obsession with German women.  But we’re not sure it’s reciprocated…

My boyfriend is also from the south (although he was born in Germany, Khedira also has Tunisian origins), and I believed I knew this type of men before I moved here.  But it’s true that although you all like flirting a lot, you’re also very respectful with women, and I like that a lot.

And we’re also champions of Europe and of the world…

Congratulations for that.  The truth is that the Spanish national team plays very, very well.

Were you interested in football before you began dating Khedira?

The World Cup is the only competition I’ve always followed.  I had never watched a game in a stadium, and of course, I never wanted to watch them on TV.  Now I have to, I don’t have any other choice!  Seriously though, I like to watch my man work.  He’s very sexy when he wears that short uniform…

Can we ask how the two of you met?

That’s our secret.

And Mourinho?  Can we ask how you met Mourinho?

To be sincere, until I met Sami, I had no idea who Mourinho was.  Unfortunately, I still haven’t gotten to know him as a person.  It’s a shame, because Sami speaks very highly of him.

You’re a very famous pair.  How do you handle it?

I believe we’re handling it quite well.  We try to be as normal as possible.  And if someone wants to take a photo of us when we’re out taking a walk, they can do that.  We’ll continue with our lives.

How did you feel when the German Football Association scolded you for dressing too sexy for games?

In reality, that never happened.  The media invented that.  I believe the Federation has more important things to do than worry about my style.  But it was entertaining.  Sami and I saw it in the newspapers and we had a good laugh.

Will Madrid catch up to Barcelona in the Liga?

I hope so, I have my fingers crossed.  May the best team win!

Love everything but the nails and the smoking!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Dia permalink
    November 23, 2012 19:19

    OK, now I’m curious how they met. She’s not my favorite WAG but she’s ok.

  2. November 23, 2012 21:53

    I’m also interested in how they met.

    When she means from the south, does she refer to a city south of Germany or south as in Tunisia?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      November 24, 2012 15:30

      She means southern Europe.

  3. November 23, 2012 22:53

    She’s so beautiful!

  4. Jenny permalink
    November 24, 2012 05:10

    She is so bloody stunning.

    They are Madrid’s most beautiful couple.

  5. Mia permalink
    November 24, 2012 20:42

    she´s so cute. Una, I wonder if you have seen any photos of Benzema´s gf out in Madrid or Mesut´s? that would be so nice to see…

  6. moumou permalink
    November 30, 2012 09:17

    When the fashion means less and less clothes! …may be I am oldfashioned, despite being 23 years old. I really de-taste seeing women’s flesh everywhere…

    I don’t know why ‘ famous’ players tend to make relations with ‘ famous’ nudy women!

    • Jenny permalink
      December 4, 2012 00:51

      Nothing could be more beautiful than any woman’s body.

      Love your body! Love women.

  7. December 3, 2012 17:42

    haters gonna hate…i think she is fabulous and so good for sami.

Leave a comment