Skip to content

I wonder if they ever feel silly?

March 15, 2011

Well, you’ve probably already seen these pictures of Karim, Sergio, Iker and Cris that Real Madrid released yesterday in order to get the fans fired up for tomorrow’s key Champions League game against Lyon.  The message is serious, and an important one: the Bernabéu has to play along with the team, to be the 12th man, to support them and cheer them on.  But I really have trouble taking them seriously, because they just make me laugh.

Look at the expressions on their faces!  Look at how Cris’ doesn’t change!  And how Iker looks resigned in one of them, as if he knows how cheesy these are, while Karim attempts an “I’m a real badass” look and Sergio puts his best “it’s a serious message, people, so listen up” face on (the video is even funnier, especially in the parts where they’re pointing and looking off into the distance).

Anyway, these pictures are just three in a long line of (unintentionally) hilarious and most of the time cheesy photos published by Madrid’s web site, and I thought it would be fun to take a look back at all the victims fun they’ve brought us this season.  You could also see it as a list of sins committed by the team’s photographers.

ONE. The obsession with the thumbs-up pose!  Why is everyone forced to do this pose?  They have to do it during the bwin interviews…

… during their medical check-up (which ruin the otherwise perfectly great shirtless photos)… [P.S. if it were up to me, I’d just have them pose shirtless every time.]

… as well as at the entrance to the hospital before the check-up!  We get it, they’re happy to be there.

For the photographers, it’s applicable for any situation, whether it’s an interview or the official presentation…

… and the worst thing is, they have the next generations doing it already, starting with Castilla and RMC!  Noooo!

All the pictures above are just a very, very, very tiny sampling of pictures featuring players doing the thumbs-up.

TWO. If you thought the thumbs-up pose was the worst imaginable, then meet the “double thumbs-up.”  It’s exactly as the name describes it, and it’s a double dose of visual pain.  Gonzalo Higuaín is the most frequent victim.

THREE. The favorite prop as of late is the video camera.  I have no idea why, but the boys look very strange when they try and pretend to be operating it.  I like how MFC is so multi-talented he can multi-task and handle a ball with one hand and the camera with the other.

FOUR. Meanwhile, the latest obsession is – and who can guess what’s going on in the photographers’ minds – taking a picture of the player posing in front of the make-up mirror.  I don’t get it.

FIVE. Timing is crucial when it comes to taking photos, and perhaps that’s something these photographers need to work on?  After all, these photos should be flattering, no?  One more exhibit here.

SIX. They’re also fond of shooting from strange angles.  Look, if you really want to shoot Raúl Albiol from the ground up, the least you can do if shoot up his shorts leg so we can confirm if the El Chori nickname fits or not.

SEVEN. Other shots with strange backgrounds/props.  Why did they decide the side of the building, in the midst of what appears to be a flower bed, was the best place to shoot Juanan (and at an angle too, I might add)?  And the chalk? dust? talcum powder? that Mesut is blowing means what exactly?  I wonder if he sneezed right after that photo was taken?

EIGHT. When I first saw this photo of Tomy Mejías at the old Ciudad Deportiva, now the home of four skyscrapers, I thought, that’s a nice photo, having him pose with the Torre de Cristal as the backdrop.  Yesterday, this photo of Madrid basketball player Ante Tomic appeared (he was also subjected to a weird angle photo – see point six – as well).  Once again, the photographers show their lack of originality.  Come on, you have the whole city – and the comunidad too if you want – at your disposal!

NINE. Now these pictures are not strictly the fault of the photographer, but they just go to show that maybe a stylist needs to be hired to make sure that the end products don’t hurt anyone’s eyes, whether it’s the clothing, the choice of accessories or the hair styling.

TEN. No explanation needed, right?

If only I had these boys as my models, to do as I please with them!

50 Comments leave one →
  1. PepperPots permalink
    March 15, 2011 15:07

    HAHAHA! Truly, save the best picture for last! Good job!

  2. March 15, 2011 15:08

    “taking a picture of the player posing in front of the make-up mirror”
    so you see two of them in one picture?

  3. March 15, 2011 15:11

    Oh my gosh. I am ROLLING on the floor laughing. This is hysterical. The Mesut talcum powder/Adebayor ones have to be the best. Though MFC is making a case for MFP (my favorite picture)…

  4. Nurul permalink
    March 15, 2011 15:18

    Those photos make me want to laugh and cry at the same time. Cristiano’s face is just… /cracks up
    And I’d bet Iker was trying hard -not- to laugh!
    The thumbs up pose is the most over-used pose, ever! It’s quite horrible.

  5. Michelle permalink
    March 15, 2011 15:22

    “Look, if you really want to shoot Raúl Albiol from the ground up, the least you can do if shoot up his shorts leg so we can confirm if the El Chori nickname fits or not.”

    I cannot believe you just went there. You did. You went. All the way to there.

  6. Laryssa permalink
    March 15, 2011 15:33

    You have a perfect timing, Una.
    Today I was so sad and down because of the new (and horrible) rumors about RM and the doping accusations. And what you do? A more than perfect post just to cheer us up. I couldn’t stop laughing…
    Maybe you don’t have the exact idea how important your blog is to your faithful readers, but I can guarantee that what you do everyday is simply special and unique.
    So thank you once again.

  7. superfan permalink
    March 15, 2011 15:55

    OMG. I cannot with this post. Hahahahaha. Epic funny! Hilarious!! Thank you so much for taking the time to make this post and make us laugh. 🙂 The boys are just too silly, but adorable, nonetheless.

  8. RealLisa permalink
    March 15, 2011 15:56

    “… and the worst thing is, they have the next generations doing it already, starting with Castilla and RMC! Noooo!” Jajajajaj, Una you rock! This just made my day! Jajaja!

  9. March 15, 2011 16:02

    Those supposedly motivating and calling for support pictures are cheesy and hilarious.
    Iker looks like saying ” Oh really people, why do I have to do this?”
    Cris ” let me try to freeze on my best gangster face.”
    Karim ” I am trying my best badass rapper face for you people”
    Sergio( especially in 1st photo) ” I have been in a movie lately , so let me continue showing off my acting skills by putting on the serious Arnold Schwarzenegger Terminator face”

  10. March 15, 2011 16:13

    LOLOLOLOLOL!! I just died laughing! And that Manu picture at the very end made me wanna pee (again!)

  11. oli permalink
    March 15, 2011 16:16

    Oh god. I love you Una for this hilarious post.

  12. Lily Montella permalink
    March 15, 2011 16:35

    hahahahaha omg these pictures made my morning!

    Thanks Una! Seriously hilarious!

  13. IsaBella permalink
    March 15, 2011 17:13

    If I had these boys as my models I’d just stop taking photos and do something more pleasant 🙂
    well, I think at least partially my wish came true last week 😉

  14. March 15, 2011 17:19

    If you were given the opportunity to do what you want with them, I doubt they would become just models 😉

  15. Maisoun permalink
    March 15, 2011 17:59

    “Look, if you really want to shoot Raúl Albiol from the ground up, the least you can do if shoot up his shorts leg so we can confirm if the El Chori nickname fits or not.”

    –LOL! LOVE this!

    But seriously these pics are awful & adorable at the same time, would we love these boys as much if they DIDNT turn on the cheese once in a while (most of the time) ? …well probably but I love looking forward to the laughs this team gives me! ❤

  16. Pammie permalink
    March 15, 2011 18:51

    that’s the right thing we need to ease the tension before tomorrow! lol

    You should send this to the official page as a little heads up. But do we really want to know with which other original poses the photographers would come up with? 😀

    winking Manolito got to be my favourite cheesy photo of the site this season. He can use it for his online dating profile too 😛

  17. mila_casillas permalink
    March 15, 2011 18:55

    Omg hahahaha! I love Mou’s srs face as he holds the RM card.

    I have a confession to make. I have started doing the thumbs up myself irl. I can’t stop myself. As soon as the camera appears my thumb just goes up. D:

    • noelle permalink
      March 20, 2011 07:25

      oh god! me too!!! my supervisor told me to do something at work and i gave him a thumbs up and he was like “did you just give me a thumbs up?”… i put it down as soon as he mentioned it lol… next thing u kno, my pinky finger will be going up when im drinking something

  18. mar permalink
    March 15, 2011 19:42

    Ok they do not look all angly but i can’t stand any more thubs up!

  19. Zparklemotion permalink
    March 15, 2011 20:25

    LOL this post is both so glorious and oh so sad at the same time :D/D:

  20. Lauren permalink
    March 15, 2011 20:26

    Haha this was a funny post! There are really strange pictures xD
    But at least they don’t fail to entertain us!

  21. DebS permalink
    March 15, 2011 20:28

    This is the first time that I’ve noticed it but it seems as if some of the pictures facing the mirror and the reflections were 2 different pix. Take Sergio’s for example…the direction he’s really looking would not be the reflection shown in the pic . Also, he’s much closer to the mirror in “real life” than he is in the reflection. Just look at the picture on the wall by his bicep for comparison. Also the last pic you can tell the guy’s head is tilted to the right a bit in “real life” but in the reflection it’s perfectly straight. You can definitely tell, they were trying to give us the best look in both pics so no complaints tho.

    I think Sergio looks the most normal in the first pics. Cris looks mad more than serious. Iker looks like he’s just about to laugh in the last 2. And the last one of Benzema looks like he’s thinking “Bisch, please!”

    and OMG! That picture of Mou?! rofl! He is definitely NOT happy to have his pic taken in that pic. He reminds me of a little kid who’s forced by his mom to get his picture taken.

    These guys are just too funny. Thanks for reminding us, Una!

  22. March 15, 2011 20:47

    ROFLMAO..hohoho i laughed that i can’t even talk..(^O^)

  23. lyd permalink
    March 15, 2011 20:48

    AHAHAH that one of adebayor will never not be THE MOST AWKWARD THING I’VE EVER SEEN. his shut eye is so weird looking.

  24. Kristine permalink
    March 15, 2011 21:30

    Hahahahahaha! Una I’m dying over here! The one about Chori! hahahaha! so true!

  25. RubyTuesday permalink
    March 15, 2011 21:45

    Love this post. Hilarious

  26. Linda permalink
    March 15, 2011 21:57

    Oh My… This…Is…Hilarious! They are in desperate need of a qualified and talented photographer
    Una you totally made my day!

    By the way did anyone else notice how they take the pictures of the medicals with the ECG electrodes sticked on to the players but not yet attached to the machine? Why would you want to do that…
    Thoug they do remind me of the loads of fun we had taking our own ECG’s the other day at uni! Oh those good ol’ days (read: like 2 months ago)

  27. suzanne permalink
    March 15, 2011 22:07

    OMG una! thank you for releaving some of the tension i am feeling for tomorrow’s match. i am dying with your discriptions (esp El Chori :blushes:)…and of course the poses themselves. i like to think that mesut is blowing magical pixie dust 😀

  28. March 15, 2011 22:10

    *lol*
    I love this posting!
    Thanks for all that pics and you are right, I never thought about this weird angles and poses.
    Looking at RM pics will never be the same now….;)

  29. black widow permalink
    March 15, 2011 22:44

    bwahahaha! mou’s face in number five made me laugh so hard, i woke up my cat! he has a classic FML face. (i’m still giggling now, as i’m typing this.)

    y’know, photography is a big hobby of mine, so if they ever needed someone to shoot the boys, i’d be happy to volunteer. i can think of lots of, uh, creative poses they could do that don’t involve thumbs up and would be willing to shoot them over and over again until we got the perfect photo. think about it, FP!

  30. March 15, 2011 23:10

    Granero looks so adorable with the thumbs up though! The first time I saw that picture of Mou, I thought it was a joke…really, did no one tell him when they were going to take the picture?? And Sergio, if this is meant to be your “cold” face ><"…Dios, I can't stop laughing =(

  31. jean permalink
    March 15, 2011 23:16

    hilarious and fantastic post as always Una:)

  32. ToujoursPetite permalink
    March 15, 2011 23:18

    LOLOLOL, A+ post!!

    Karim… Oh lord, I just can’t. He looks like a lost child or something in all of them, hahaha

    Una, watchu talkin’ bout, that last Manu pic is the best picture of all time!!!

  33. Kat permalink
    March 16, 2011 00:30

    I had to keep myself from bursting out laughing as I am already at work reading this. Hahaha!

    “Look, if you really want to shoot Raúl Albiol from the ground up, the least you can do if shoot up his shorts leg so we can confirm if the El Chori nickname fits or not.” – I almost spat out my water when I read this. Naughty!

    And the chalk picture! Goodness me, it looks like some poorly made ad for a down-on-his-luck magician! And I love that Mou doesn’t even TRY to pretend that he’s happy with what he’s doing in that picture. He looks even sad. Hahaha.

    http://dontaskmetosmile.wordpress.com

  34. Priya permalink
    March 16, 2011 00:45

    HILARIOUS post. The last picture honestly made me pee myself LOL.

  35. Debsen permalink
    March 16, 2011 00:54

    This post was hilarious!

  36. ulong permalink
    March 16, 2011 01:22

    oh, Una..
    you are the only one in this planet who came to this hilarious post :DD

  37. dewi arum nawang wungu permalink
    March 16, 2011 04:12

    hahahahahahaha… you really made my day, una. how funny! and i can’t stand with adebayor posing like that. my oh my. hahaha…

  38. March 16, 2011 05:19

    NBA player LeBron James grabs a bunch of powder in his hands and throws it into the crowd before tip-off. It’s his ‘thing’. Perhaps Mesut is paying homage to ‘King James’?
    You just have to love those pics. I have no problem seeing past the thumbs and all the other cheesy business. The guys are all just too good looking…
    Great way to ease into tomorrow’s competition. Thanks Una!

    • Iram permalink
      March 16, 2011 09:01

      i was gonna mention the same thing! LeBron does it…but he’s cocky (I’m sorry but he is) and he does it for a “king” effect. But Mezut doing it…he seems so innocent!

      • DebS permalink
        March 17, 2011 03:40

        Don’t apologize. LeBron is cocky. He needs to take a lesson from MJ. That man just let his game do the talking and not his mouth!

  39. March 16, 2011 07:42

    AMAZING

  40. March 16, 2011 13:10

    another blog entry made of AWESOME and hilarious! I even don;t knwo what to write! You rock this town UnaMadridista!!!!

    those pics are legendary!

    and also, I wink back at you Adebayor, what a picture!;-)

  41. Sayu permalink
    March 16, 2011 17:50

    pepe looks like a 7 year old kid in that outfit! :))) the poses with the camera were all awkward!

  42. Aby permalink
    March 17, 2011 15:28

    In the picture with Albiol in a strange angle, why aren’t they wearing shoes?

    • DebS permalink
      March 18, 2011 02:52

      they probably took them off once they got a break from or finished practice to give their feet a breather. 😉

Trackbacks

  1. The Real Madrid Photographers Strike Again « Of Headbands and Heartbreak…
  2. all set for Olympique Lyonnais! « following Real Madrid…
  3. the awkwardness is back! « following Real Madrid…
  4. all set for el Geta! « following Real Madrid…

Leave a Reply

