Skip to content

get to know… Nuri Sahin

May 10, 2011
tags: ,

Just like they did with all the signings last season, Marca made it their business to line up outside Nuri Sahin’s door, so that they could be the first ones to interview him since his signing with Real Madrid.  It’s a pretty great interview, and judging by his answers to the questions, I think Nuri will fit in perfectly at Madrid.  And I bet you’ll be surprised at what his mobile ringtone is!

on signing for Madrid: signing for Madrid is not something that happens every day!  When the agreement was finalized, you can imagine how it was.  I was thinking to myself, “Real Madrid player, Real Madrid player…”  It wasn’t a hard decision, because it’s the biggest club in the world.  If Madrid calls you, you go to Madrid.  You can’t say no to Madrid.

on his relationship with Mesut Özil: he’s my friend and I’m sure he’ll help me out a lot in my adaptation.  We speak every two to three days because we have a great relationship, so you can imagine what it means for me to be able to play with him in Madrid.  He’s told me that this is a special club, the biggest one you can be in.  He’s enjoys playing football there and he’s improving as a player.  He’s very happy with my signing.

on what he knows about the city of Madrid: I understand that the people are very nice and the fans are affectionate.  But the most important thing is the club, because you won’t see me much in the city.  I live for football 24 hours a day.  I don’t usually go out.  I’m married and I have a very tranquil and orderly life.

on the Bernabéu: I played there with the Turkish national team and it’s marvelous.  When you go out there and you look up… ¡Buf!  I always wanted to play there and I remember that when I did, I realized one of my dreams.  We lost the game, but I felt something special.  It’s a beautiful stadium with a great history.

on his language skills: I speak Turkish, German, English and Dutch.  I think it’s important to understand the customs and culture of the places where you are, so I’ve always worked hard to learn languages.  I will learn Spanish quickly.

on his jersey number: I don’t care about that, whatever they give me will be fine.  I’m not the type of player who cares about those kinds of things.  I focus on the game, not the things around it.

And the personal test.

A car: Audi S5.  It’s the one I have, the best one I’ve ever had and one that I never imagined I would own [well, now he can get one for free!].

A color: white.

A city: Istanbul.

A vacation spot: Antalya (Turkey).

A stadium: the Santiago Bernabéu and that of Borussia Dortmund, of course.

A movie: any that stars Denzel Washington, the best actor.

A book: The Alchemist.

A hobby: spending time with my family and playing Play.

A dream: to realize the dream of Real Madrid, which is to win the Champions.

A desire: health for my entire family.

You love… eating and sleeping.

You hate… lies.

Your ringtone:  the Champions League hymn.  In September, I’ll hear it on the field.

A woman’s name: Tugba, my wife’s name.

And here is a video of Sahin meeting his idol Cristiano back in 2008.  Take care, my friend.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. Clara permalink
    May 10, 2011 10:12

    Nuri Sahin!! His eyes are really dreamy. 🙂

    omg. gotta love his dream! lol

  2. maddy permalink
    May 10, 2011 10:54

    am i the only one who thinks the champions league hymn is a bit silly?

    • Devyn permalink
      May 11, 2011 14:29

      Nope! Haha I laugh everytime I hear it 😛

  3. Ilse permalink
    May 10, 2011 11:13

    He speaks Dutch? He was only in the Netherlands for a year! And his favorite book is the alchemist, wow, love him already!

    • Rina permalink
      May 10, 2011 14:38

      OMG ‘THE ALCHEMIST’ IS MY FAVE BOOK TOO 😀

    • Ally permalink
      May 10, 2011 16:51

      Are you Dutch too? ^.^

      • Ilse permalink
        May 11, 2011 16:57

        Well yeah, aswel. But mostly I’m impressed with him speaking Dutch if he was only there for 1 year, I know plenty Germans who wouldn’t be able to say that.

      • Rina permalink
        May 11, 2011 17:33

        NO…IM ALBANIAN 😀

  4. Laura permalink
    May 10, 2011 12:01

    Actually I wanted to write why I’m not sure about this transfer, but I reconsidered it and decided just to wish him luck and all the best for his future at Real Madrid.
    There’s no doubt that he will fit perfectly in the squad. And that he will doing great in Madrid.

    It’s like Nuri said, if Madrid calls you, you can’t say no. You have to go, no matter what.
    I feel really sorry for Dortmund cuz they’ve lost an amazing player who was one of the reasons for reaching the Championship of Bundesliga this season.
    But maybe Nuri returns to Signal Iduna Park next season in the Champions League, I would love that for different reasons.

    PS. Una you doing a great job with this blog. I’m reading it for a couple of months now, and I’m kind of addicted to your ICYMI post. 🙂

  5. Cherrycake permalink
    May 10, 2011 12:26

    Great signing! I am happy for him. And I predict, he will learn spanish in no time at all. He is much better with languages than Mesut. Mesut clearly is not a man of words (be it in german or turkish). His mother tongue is football. . . Can’t wait to see them togehter on the pitch!

  6. Sarah, Madrid permalink
    May 10, 2011 12:34

    He is soo cute! His ringtone.

    The Audi comment is spot on lol, he will every year now!

  7. Happy permalink
    May 10, 2011 13:04

    Great!!!! Hope Sahin will succeed in Madrid, and hard to guess his ringtone!!!!

  8. Unamadridistafan permalink
    May 10, 2011 14:16

    He likes The Alchemist i’m in love!! Man seems so sweet!!!!!!!

  9. sweetubi permalink
    May 10, 2011 14:47

    Oh God I love him already! I’m too easy or what? lol

  10. amy permalink
    May 10, 2011 15:00

    favorite color: white

    ahhh melting right now

  11. jean permalink
    May 10, 2011 15:10

    Im sure he will do great in the club. And happy that Ozil will have one of his bf with him:)

  12. Reno permalink
    May 10, 2011 15:24

    Yay, I’m not the only one who has the Champions League hymn as ringtone =D

    I really liked what he said about the Bernabeu, and I hope he is able to help us win the Champions League next year! Can’t wait to see him play.

    Thanks Una! =D

  13. May 10, 2011 15:43

    Is it just me or does he look like a more rugged Jesus Navas? Like Jesus’ tougher older brother.

    • May 11, 2011 22:16

      “Like Jesus’ tougher older brother” mmmmhhhh I approve of this comparison 😉 (God, im such a fangirl at times,lol)

  14. superfan permalink
    May 10, 2011 15:49

    Ohmygod his ringtone!!! Hahahaha. So cute. Maybe it is a sign! He may be the Turkish signing that would help us bring La Decima!!!! 😀

  15. May 10, 2011 16:50

    wah..it’s a chance.. I also like the alchemist and I have this book (in bahasa Indonesia edition 😀 ) and today I receive an Istanbul postcard from my friend ^^

  16. Lulja permalink
    May 10, 2011 16:53

    I have the same ringtone!

    Good luck with Madrid, Nuri. Oh Sami… apparently you’ll have to fight for your Mesut now.

  17. May 10, 2011 17:04

    awww he’s so sweeeet!! Welcome Nuri! Welcome.. !! He’s very turkish obsessed, huh? lol.. but that’s okay:D we love u anyway(:
    THANKS UNA!

  18. Jenny permalink
    May 10, 2011 17:24

    Lovely, lovely fellow!

    What a nice interview.

  19. claudia permalink
    May 10, 2011 18:02

    He seemed like a down to earth kind of guy, who loves his family very much. I do think that he would fit in nicely with the team. Also, I love the Champions League Theme…. It’s my ringtone as well.

  20. Pammie permalink
    May 10, 2011 18:31

    I hope he’ll fit into the club as well as it seems! It’s good that he already has someone to hang out with, so he’ll be comfortable and therefore perform well. I heard that his wife is pregnant, so he and the other young fathers will have a lot to talk about too!

    thanks for the translation!

  21. cisarovna permalink
    May 11, 2011 03:07

    I agree with everyone about his favorite book, that says positive things about him!

    Una, I have been meaning to ask how accurate the reporting is on the transfer talk for Madrid. Some of the stories seem ridculous and others ring true, but how much of it is fabricated gossip or deliberate misdirection as opposed to genuine targets for transfer?

    • May 11, 2011 16:10

      The bottom line is, basically everyone is linked to Madrid, so I don’t pay attention until official announcements are made.

  22. black widow permalink
    May 11, 2011 03:53

    i know nothing about him, but he seems lovely and very bright and eager. welcome, nuri!

    one question though … if he’s in, who is out? 😦

  23. yuyutein permalink
    May 11, 2011 04:28

    Nuri! It’s so funny because “Nuri” is a name for girls in Korean… and a very very cute one! haha. I love his name and I hope I love his performance and everything with our club. Welcome to the family! 🙂

  24. Gillian permalink
    May 11, 2011 05:30

    Aaaaah! Falling in love with him already!

  25. Beyond permalink
    May 11, 2011 09:55

    I love him SO MUCH already!

  26. May 15, 2011 01:46

    He is not a great player but also a nice person. That is what I have understood from the article.

  27. EMY permalink
    June 2, 2011 16:12

    WOWWWWW !!!!!! MOURINHO IS THE GREATEST TO HAVE GONE FOR NURI SAHIN….. A PLAYER I ALWAYS DREAM ABOUT COMING TO MY ONE AND ONLY CLUB ‘REAL MADRID’ EXPECT THE BOMB FROM US IN THE FORTH COMING SEASON ……REFEREES STOP CHEATING LETS APPRECIATE THE GOOD WORK OF MOURINHO

  28. Raindan permalink
    June 8, 2011 15:10

    Great, absolutely great!!! Delighted that he likes bernabue stadium. But he could have his jersy number. Good luck for him.

  29. Halil permalink
    December 26, 2011 12:10

    Mmm well well nuri sahin u are a player wit a gr8t feature. Ozil and sahin my real fans. Hala madrid.

Trackbacks

  1. Why You Can’t Not Love This Team:
  2. les grandes équipes… the Champions!* « following Real Madrid…

Leave a comment