Skip to content

forty years of elegance and amazingness

June 23, 2012
tags: ,

I’m not sure if “amazingness” is an actual word (it probably isn’t, and the spell checker says it’s not) but it’s hard to find words that accurately describe the feelings that Zinedine Zidane evoke in me.  I found out that he was on the cover of GQ France’s July edition, and so I thought I’d share the pictures, and then I realized that today is also his 40th birthday, and so it’s a nice coincidence, no?

Several days ago, Zizou spoke with COPE’s “El Partido de las 12” program (have a listen here).  During the chat, he said that his role in Real Madrid has not changed, that he’ll continue to be close to the team and his star pupil Karim Benzema next season, although “we’ll see what happens in the future.”

Zidane also praised Andrés Iniesta during the interview, saying that Iniesta is so good that he could even play as a goalkeeper.

Iker responded the next day: “I don’t agree with Zizou (laughs).  I’m not going to speak anymore with Zizou.”  Jajajaja!!

My French is very limited, so I can’t translate the article.  If anyone wants to step in and do that, I’ll be very grateful.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Mouah permalink
    June 23, 2012 16:58

    I can try to translate if you want to ! Just send me the scans and I’ll do my best ! And tell me what you’re interested in : all subjects or just the ones related to Real Madrid…

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 25, 2012 15:40

      I’ve updated the post with the article… it’s up to you to decide what parts will be interesting for this little community!

  2. Marion permalink
    June 24, 2012 11:30

    hey, I’d love to translate the interview. but sadly I have no access to the article…where did you buy the mag?

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 25, 2012 15:41

      I’ve updated the post with the interview!

  3. maria permalink
    June 24, 2012 14:35

    Hey Una!! I speak french quite well, so if you’d like to send me the interview (I did not find the magazine here in Brazil), I’d be more than glad to help =)
    Let me know, ok?!! xxx

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 25, 2012 15:41

      I’ve updated the post with the interview, so let me know if there’s any interesting bits!

  4. Dinastere permalink
    June 24, 2012 15:27

    Hey ! I’m French so I guess I can help with the translation !

    • unamadridista permalink*
      June 25, 2012 15:41

      Thanks for the offer! I’ve updated the post with the article!

  5. Carmen permalink
    June 24, 2012 16:49

    Well I asked my sister, who reads and writes well in French if she would be able to, and she tried translating the cover and mistranslated one of the titles to be “I’ve always wanted to have a son” when it actually means “I’ve always wanted to be a boy” so maybe not. hahaha

Leave a comment